Please excuse me while I rant for a moment…


Everyone is entitled to their opinion. In the world of blogging, social networking and other forms of personal publishing, anyone with a computer, hell anyone with access to an internet cafe can broadcast their opinions near and far for the low, low cost of free. This is fine by me. Sometimes people write really interesting, thought-provoking, insightful things. Other times, they write blithering, bigoted garbage. Sometimes it’s just boring and irrelevant. All of this, is fine by me.

What I cannot tolerate and abide by however, is the improper use of other people’s online social mediums to sell their shit. Without permission! To sell their ringtones, their weight-loss videos, their workshops, their bloody hipscarves. This really irks me, and in Facebook land anyone who has the audacity to advertise their crap on my wall gets blocked real fast. No questions asked. Only assholes pull that, and I don’t need any virtual asshole friends, thank you very much.

But this is not what triggered this post. No. Something even more insidious, and apparently much lower and more time consuming inspired this little rant.

Driven to read someone’s blog post about Brothers and Sisters through the “Freshly Pressed” listings on the WordPress home page, I found myself wandering through the Fibromy-Awesome blog… the author’s tag line on her blog is “Yes, I take 25 pills a day. Boom.” Interesting. ‘Why, pray tell, do you take 25 pills a day?’ I found myself asking. The “Hey Dude, How’s Your Health?” page seemed like it might answer my little query, so I navigated hence. I read her post about what conditions she suffers from, written with humanism and humor. I always like reading people’s comments as well, I find it to be kind of like a social thermometer, when low and behold BAM! Spam attacks.

Some jerk thought this  woman’s personal telling of what she suffers from on a daily basis would be a great place to advertise her stupid, new-agey, gimmicky book. This asshole thought that it would be totally fine, within the range of basic human courtesy and potentially profitable for her to post a comment detailing the book that she authored “through my 6th sense.” Yeah. Awesome. Sign me up for a copy! No wait, sign me up for 10 so I can give them to all of the flakes in my life.

As if this hadn’t sufficiently commandeered the blog for her own profiteering purposes, this person then proceeded to reply to no less than FORTY-THREE (count them! 43!!!!) of the people who had commented to the original blog, commiserating and relating their personal struggles with all sorts of life-long health problems and diseases. In her replies, Asshole claims that her book can heal everything from depression, to Celiac to auto-immune deficiency. Riiiight. All from buddy’s 6th sense.

It’s a free world, and a free market so if some touched lunatic wants to publish his or her rantings, well, they’re allowed to. While I understand that cyberspace does not have the tangible built-in boundaries that real, physical space does, I would have thought that human decency and discretion would step up and delineate where it is and is not appropriate to advertise.

Apparently, I have once again given humanity too much credit.

Rant concluded. You may now return to your regularly scheduled programming.

7 thoughts on “Please excuse me while I rant for a moment…

  1. I was one of the commenters on Mary’s blog (Fibromy-Awesome), on that post, and I woke up with 49 effing email notifications. (you said 43, so I think by the time i woke up – i’m in hawaii, later time zone – that there had been a few replies to this nutcase).

    When I went and started reading what this “Roda” character had posted, I was SO UPSET. I mean… how dare she. HOW DARE SHE! She told me to throw my medicine away, buy her book, that my sickness was all my fault and that God had told her to tell me all this.

    Like, how do I even react to that? My husband told me to put my iphone down immediately before I unleashed some rage on this lunatic. I had step away, collect my thoughts. It was so insulting and mean… and here’s the confusing part, why would anyone buy something from someone who’s insulted them? So after being bullied, I’m to go and want to support this person?

    She’s starkers. She has to be.

    I love your rant on it, you hit the nail on the head. And I love that you called out this “Roda” character for her terrible manners and poorly calculated blog bombing.

    • Hi Rose! Thanks very much for your comment, and I’m sorry that you were one of the people who this Roda character decided to insensitively spam her book at.

      I was not even one of the people who these inappropriate marketing comments were directed at, and they still got my blood boiling, so I can only imagine how you feel.

      I’m always amazed at the selfish and insensitive privileges people afford themselves online. I feel like perhaps people feel comfortable writing things behind the safe screen of their computers, that they would not normally dare to say in ‘real’ physical spaces.

      Also, thanks for the clarification on the author of Fibromy-Awesome! I was sure from reading the Brothers and Sisters post that she was a he 🙂 And I was trying to be all gender-neutral with the book author! Will go back and edit now.

      Thanks again, and don’t let the Roda’s of the world get you down!

      • no worries on the author/gender thing… the blogosphere is so big,m it’s way too hard to sort out everyone.

        the audacity of those people who hide behind their screens just blows me away! some people are just so mean. i’ve seen it happen in so many various internet spaces, and it still suprises me every time. being that nasty just seems like a waste of energy, much less a clever way to market one’s crap!

        it takes a lot more than one bad apple to get me down though, way more! i was just so – mad, for lack of better word? – in the moment. i know that i have thick skin, and that illnesses be damned, i’m in a great place in my life. i so worry about the fragile person, or the rather vulnerable person who gets some digi-mud slung on them, and they just can’t handle it. i’m a sucker for sticking up for people.

        i can so see we have that in common!

        anyways, i love seeing someone be nice online, and even thought you weren’t a “victim” of this random buy-my-book-bombing, i think it’s sweet that your blood was boiled on our behalf. i need to check out the rest of your blog, here. so far, i like your style!

Leave a Reply

